Discover our day trips from Belgrade
Book a full-day excursion

Sremski Karlovci & Monasteries of Fruška gora – 16 Medieval Jewels

Image module

Sremski Karlovci, a baroque city of culture, wine and spirituality

Sremski Karlovci is a town and municipality located in the South Bačka District of the autonomous province of Vojvodina, Serbia. It is situated on the bank of the river Danube, 8 kilometres (5 miles) from Novi Sad. According to the 2011 census results, it has a population of 8,750 inhabitants. The town has traditionally been known as the seat of Serbian Orthodox Church in the Habsburg Monarchy, as well as political and cultural capital of Serbian Vojvodina after the May Assembly and during the Revolution in 1848.
In Serbian, the town is known as Sremski Karlovci (Сремски Карловци), in Croatian as Srijemski Karlovci, in German as Karlowitz or Carlowitz, in Hungarian as Karlóca, in Polish as Karłowice, in Romanian as Carloviț and in Turkish as Karlofça. The former Serbian name used for the town was Karlovci (Карловци) – it is used today as well, but unofficially.
Built on the site of one of the most significant events in recent history. In 1699, the famous treaty between the Christian Alliance (Austria, Poland, Venice and Russia), on one side, and Ottoman Empire on the other, was signed in Sremski Karlovci. The treaty was mediated by The Netherlands and England.

Image module

Monasteries of Fruška Gora, region of unique culture and historical value

Up until 90 million years ago, Fruška gora was an island in the Pannonian sea. Today it is a beautiful island mountain embraced by the calm plains of Vojvodina, and the oldest national park in Serbia. Its hidden valleys were once the home of an astonishing number of 35 Serbian Orthodox monasteries, only 16 of which still stand today due to various conquests, wars and desolation.
While historical sources state that the monasteries had been built in the first half of the 16th century, legends tell us they originate from a period between the 12th and 15th century.

Zemun - The Millenium Tower / Panoramic view Avala / The Museum of Yugoslav History

Image module

Zemun, Gardoš Tower – The Last Symbol of a Fallen Empire in Belgrade

Gardoš Tower is a protected historic monument and a look-out tower that is located in Belgrade’s municipality of Zemun on top of Gardoš hill overlooking the right bank of the Danube. Rising above Zemun municipality, Gardoš tower is the major historical landmark of Zemun which can be seen from all parts of the district and is one of the stops we recommend on your Belgrade tour.
Although Zemun is one of Belgrade’s districts today, Belgrade and Zemun had been two distinct settlements until the recent 1930’s when the expanding Belgrade gobbled up Zemun as one of its municipalities. The Danube river forming a natural barrier between the two settlements made Zemun physically separated from Belgrade for a long time in history and the two towns were even part of different kingdoms. Unlike Belgrade, Zemun was never under Ottoman rule so the architecture is visibly different here, typical of Central Europe which contributes to Belgrade being a colorful and diverse city that appeals to a wide audience.

Image module

The Avala Tower

Today’s Tower with its 204,8 meters is, just like its predecessor, the tallest building in the Balkans, and it was opened on April 21st, 2010, just beneath the location of the old tower destroyed in 1999 during the NATO bombing.
Visitors can enjoy the spectacular view on the entire Belgrade and the surrounding area from a café at the top reached by two elevators. The Tower is open for visitors every day except on Mondays.

Image module

Monument to the Unknown Hero

A few minutes’ walk takes you to the very peak of Avala, and the green arbored walk leads to the Monument to the Unknown Hero.
It is a monumental complex with 8 caryatids at the entrance, in national costumes, representing the unity of all nationalities in the Kingdom of Yugoslavia.
The monument, work of the famous sculptor Ivan Meštrović, was opened on June 28th, 1938, and it is located at the place where once the medieval city of Žrnov stood.

Image module

The Museum of Yugoslav History

It is located at the place with an outstanding panoramic view on Belgrade, surrounded with lush greenery of the park with cascading complex of trails, stairs and vast plateaus. The complex includes the Museum “May 25th”, the Old Museum and the House of Flowers.
Today the Museum “May 25th” is the entrance and exit building of the complex, and it was built as a present of the city of Belgrade for Tito’s 70th birthday. The Old Museum originally was a place where numerous presents that Tito received in the country and abroad would be treasured and exhibited. The House of Flowers was built in 1975 as a winter garden with work and leisure space in the central part of the complex. How dear to his heart this house was, is best testified by the fact that in accordance to his personal wish Tito was buried here.
Today visitors can see Tito’s grave covered with a massive marble panel with no other signs but carved name and party pseudonym “Tito” he was known after.

We're expecting you!

Booked tours are guaranteed in all weather conditions. Please dress in layers in case of weather changes.